The Next Big Thing

My friend Aviva Englander Christy generously tagged me for The Next Big Thing interviews.

The Next Big Thing is, as many of you may know, the self-interview for writers on forthcoming/recent projects. Aviva Englander Christy’s chapbook, The Interior Structure, is forthcoming from dancing girl press.

 

What is the title of the book?

Last Train to the Midnight Market. This is a chapbook.

 

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I took a gap year between high school and college, and went to live in Seoul, South Korea. For 10 months, I supported myself by tutoring, and in my free time, volunteered to teach English to orphans. I tried to look past the imminently bleak futures of the children I worked with, but it wasn’t until four years later that I could begin to process my experience through poetry.

 

What genre does the book fall under?

Poetry

 

What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Father: Brian Goodman

Mother: Michelle Yeoh

Son: Harry Shum Jr.

 

What is the one sentence synopsis for your book?

A boy searches a foreign city for his mother.

 

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

These poems were written during my time at Carnegie Mellon University. This chapbook was half of my senior thesis.

 

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

People: Jim Daniels, Li-Young Lee.

Korea: Namsan Orphanage. This. This. This.

 

What else about your book might pique a reader’s interest?

The cover was hand-drawn in three hours. The boy in the poems travels by subway. I am not an ethnic writer.

 

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I am honored that Finishing Line Press released my chapbook in March 2013. You can purchase it here.

 

My tagged writers for the next round:

Madeleine Barnes. Alex YuschikAnne Marie Rooney. Joseph Lapin. Louis K. Lowy. Corey Ginsberg. Shannon Deep.

Leave a Reply

